Q: Will my insurance cover the cost of Physical Therapy?
A: In most cases, health insurance will cover your treatment. TherapyOne is contracted with all of New Mexico and Colorado’s insurance carriers including Medicare,Medicaid, and all of the state’s Workers Compensation groups. Please call our office as our receptionist and billing coordinators can provide you the necessary information about your coverage.
Q: How much will it cost?
A: The amount of payment depends on your individual benefits, deductible and co-payment amount. In most cases, a patient should expect to pay a $20-40, pending your insurance plan. In many cases we can design a payment plan if necessary, as we would rather you see the benefits of quality care versus suffering in discomfort, due to the high cost of health insurance deductobles.
Q: Do I need a referral to attend or start physical therapy?
A: No, you do not need a referral to be seen by a physical therapist in the state of New Mexico. On April 10th, 2015 Governor Susana Martinez signed into law that granted direct access to physical therapy without a physician’s referral. With the exception of Medicare and Medicaid, most insurances plans no longer require a prescription.
A: On your first visit, your physical therapist will perform an examination/evaluation to determine what deficits and/or problems you have that can be addressed. The examination/evaluation involves a thorough history, a systems review, and tests and measures that allow the physical therapist to get a more specific understanding of your condition. Your physical therapist will make a clinical judgment as to your diagnosis and prognosis.
At the end of the evaluation, the physical therapist will review with you a treatment program aimed at resolving the problems identified, and along with your own expectations, goals will be set that is aimed at restoring your physical well being.
Q: What happens on my first visit?
Q: How long will my visit last?
A: Your first visit will last approximately 45–60 minutes and will include an evaluation and treatment if time allows. Each subsequent visits you will receive one-on-one care that will take about 45-60 minutes or so depending on what your physical therapist has planned for your treatment session. Frequency and duration of each treatment is dependent on your diagnosis, financial obligations, and time; however most patients attend treatments at 1-3x a week for 4-6 weeks.
A: Please bring your physician’s referral (if not already received), medical insurance card, a photo ID, and a list of your medications. Please arrive 15 minutes early on your first visit in order to fill out the necessary medical intake forms. To save time, these forms are conveniently located on the New Patient Form tab
Q: What do I need to bring?
A: You should wear loose fitting clothing so you can expose the area of your body that needs evaluating and treating. For example, if you have a knee problem, it is best to wear shorts or sweat pants that can roll-up above the knee. For a shoulder problem, a tank top or loose T-shirt is a good choice, and for low back problems wear a loose fitting shirt and pants so we can perform a thorough examination and treatment.